Review Policy & Archive

Please note that we no longer review books, and this page is for reference purposes only pertaining to the reviews that already exist.

Our Policy: 

We do not review e-books.

Young Adult books take priority over others.

Books that we did not specifically ask for or agree to review will have low-priority.

We cannot guarantee that books that are not specifically YA (i.e. Middle Grade, Adult, nonfiction, etc) will be reviewed.

If we receive a book that we have previously agreed to review, we will do our very best to review it. However, because we often receive many more books than we have the time to read, some may be postponed or neglected. If this is the case, we will try to do a contest or showcase on the title as soon as possible. We ask for your patience.

We will always be honest in our reviews, despite any personal contact with the author or publisher.

We will abide by the wishes of the author or publisher as much as possible regarding dates and times and content. 

We will maintain a professional attitude at all times, in regard to all things. 


Reviewing Format:

Grade:

A+:61-70 pts= Fantastically amazing!
A: 51-60 pts= Great, worth the read.
B: 41-50 pts= Pretty good.
C: 31-40 pts= Average. Nothing special.
D: 21-30 pts= Not so great.
F: 0-20 pts= Unworthy.

Synopsis: From the jacketflap of the book.

Rating:

Character Development: x/10pts
Originality: x/10pts
Overall Enjoyment: x/10pts
Ending: x/10pts
Voice: x/10pts
Plot: x/10
Setting: x/10pts
Total Score: x/70

Obtained: Where we got it.

Age Appropriate? G/PG/PG-13/R

Language: We will specify the frequency and severity of the cursing, and the situation if relevant.

Drugs, alcohol, etc.: We will specify the situation, frequency, severity, and the user (if they are underage, it is obviously more severe, etc)

Sexual Content: We will specify whether or not actual scenes occur and how graphic it is, if it is suggested in conversation, or if it is necessary to the plot.

Disturbing Images/ Violence: We will specify what kind of situation or violence occurs, if it is frequent throughout the novel, or if it disturbed, insulted, etc. We do this based on its potential to offend a wide variety of people, not what offended us.

Review: See REVIEW POLICY.

LINKS: Sites, reviews, or interviews that are relevant or related to the book or review. We will also include any book trailers that we come across.


Review Archive
The following is an alphabetical list of all of our reviews, including title, author, link, grade, date, and review author. (Hint: if you want to search, use the CTRL+F function) 
Click on the title to see the review.
(last updated May 2011)

A

(A+) 3/31/2009 Elise
(A) 4/26/2009 Shakespeare's Muse
(A+) 10/25/2009 SM

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
(A+) 1/9/2010 SM 
(A+) 6/20/2009 SM
 (C) 6/26/2009 Elise
(B) 9/7/2009 Elise
(A) 2/12/2010 SM

B
(A+) 6/6/2009 Elise
(A+) 4/25/2010 Elise
(A) 5/17/2010 Elise
(A) 5/6/2009 Elise
(C) 11/20/2009 SM
(A+) 5/28/2010 SM

C
(A+) 7/11/2009 SM
(B) 1/22/2010 SM
(B) 10/1/2009 SM
 (A+) 9/5/2009 SM

Cate of the Lost Colony by Lisa Klein
(A+) 10/22/2010 SM 
(A+) 4/19/2010 Elise
(A) 6/18/2009 SM
(A+) 9/28/2009 SM
(A+) 10/13/2009 SM


Clearing, The by Heather Davis
(A) 2/23/2011 Elise

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
(A+) 1/2/2011 Elise 
(A) 7/3/2009 SM

D
(A) 1/8/2010 SM
(B) 8/22/2009 SM
(B) 9/3/2009 SM
(B) 11/29/2009 SM
(A+) 5/26/2010 SM
(A) 6/10/2009 SM
(A) 9/12/2009 Elise
(A) 2/4/2010 SM

Drought by Pam Bachorz
(A) 12/21/2010 Elise 

E 
(A+) 6/8/2009 SM

(A) 2/23/2009 Elise
1/7/2010 Elise

(A) 4/8/2009 Elise

F 
(C) 4/21/2009 SM

(A+) 4/19/2009 SM
(A+) 7/17/2009 SM


Flawless by Lara Chapman
(B-) 5/1/2011 SM
(A+) 9/13/2009 SM

(A+) 4/5/2009 SM
(A) 3/23/2010 SM
(A) 5/15/2009 SM
(A) 12/27/2009 Elise

G 
(A+) 4/9/2010 SM

3/27/2009 Elise
(C) 6/15/2009 Elise
(B) (9/19/2009 SM
(A) 12/28/2009 Elise
(A+) 11/1/2009 SM

Grace by Elizabeth Scott
(A+) 1/3/2011 SM 

H 
(A) 7/29/2009 SM

Haunted, The by Jessica Verday
(A) 11/6/2010 SM 
(B) 12/30/2009 SM
(A+) 3/19/2010 SM
(A+) 11/27/2009 Elise
(A+) 8/29/2009 SM
(C) 3/29/2009 Elise
 (A+) 11/1/2009 SM

(A+) 3/24/2009 SM

Hush by Eishes Chayil
(A+) 10/6/2010 SM 
(A+) 3/13/2010 (guest review) 

I 
(A+) 2/9/2010 Elise
(A+) 11/22/2009 Elise
(A+) 9/17/2009 SM
(A) 5/5/2010 SM
(A+) 5/15/2009 SM
(A) 5/14/2009 SM
(A+) 1/19/2010 SM
(A+) 2/13/2010 Elise
(A+) 11/11/2009 SM
(A) 5/1/2010 Elise

Jenna and Jonah's Fauxmance by Emily Franklin and Brendan Haplin
(B-) 2/1/2011 SM 

K 
(A+) 5/25/2009 SM

L 
(A+) 9/6/2009 SM

Last Song, The by Nicholas Sparks 
(A+) 7/3/2010 Elise
 (A+) 9/8/2009 SM

Life, After by Sarah Darer Littman 
(A) 8/25/2010 SM
 (A) 4/4/2010 Elise

Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor (illustrations by Jim Di Bartolo) 
(A) 10/7/2009 SM
(A) 10/19/2009 SM

Logic of Demons: The Quest for Nadine's Soul by H. A. Goodman
(unreview) 12/20/2010 SM 
(A+) 10/11/2009 SM
(A) 8/12/2009 SM

Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin
10/5/2010 (guest review)

M 
(A+) 7/12/2009 SM
  (A+) 12/22/2009 SM
(A+) 11/15/2009 SM
(B) 11/14/2009 SM
 (A) 7/31/2009 SM


Mistwood by Leah Cypess
(B+) 2/22/2011 Elise
(A+) 5/9/2009 Elise
(A+) 10/17/2009 SM
 (B) 3/15/2009 Elise

N 
(A+) 9/16/2009 SM

(A) 3/24/2009 SM
(A+) 9/29/2009 SM
 (A+) 11/30/2009 SM

O 
(A+) 1/28/2010 SM
(A) 8/3/2009 SM

Obernewtyn by Isobell Carmody
(A) 12/12/2010 SM 
(A) 2/24/2010 SM
(B) 9/18/2009 Elise


Outside In by Maria V. Snyder
(A+) 3/19/2011 SM


OyMG by Amy Fellner Dominy
(C) 5/11/2011 SM

P 
(A) 4/9/2009 SM
(A+) 4/21/2010 SM
(A+) 5/18/2009 SM
(B) 6/5/2009 SM
(B) 7/23/2009 SM

Poison Diaries, The by Maryrose Wood (based on a concept by the Duchess of Northumberland)
(A+) 6/24/2009 Elise
(A+) 7/26/2009 SM
 (A) 4/4/2010 Elise

Q 

R 
(A) 12/2/2009 SM
(A+) 6/13/2009 SM
(A+) 7/7/2009 SM
(A+) 5/12/2010 SM
(A+) 2/22/2010 SM
(B) 9/23/2009 SM

S 
(A+) 5/7/2009 SM

(A) 4/26/2009 Elise
(A+) 3/17/2010 SM
(A) 6/26/2010 Elise
(B) 9/14/2009 SM
 (A+) 8/24/2009 SM


Sean Griswold's Head by Lindsey Leavitt
(A-) 3/7/2011 SM

Secondhand Charm by Julie Berry
(A) 9/28/2010 SM 
(B) 1/4/2010 Elise

(A) 4/28/2009 SM


Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
(A+) 3/27/2011 SM
(A+) 7/20/2009 Elise
(A+) 10/2/2009 SM

Siren by Tricia Rayburn
(B) 7/19/2010 Elise 
(A) 5/5/2010 Elise

Sleepless by Cyn Balog
(A) 7/20/2010 SM 
(A) 8/20/2009 Elise


Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
(A+) 3/17/2011 SM

(B) 4/9/2009 SM

Spy Glass by Maria V. Snyder 
(A+) 8/30/2010 SM

Star Crossed by Elizabeth C. Bunce
(A) 12/7/2010 Elise 

(A) 4/13/2009 Elise


Stay by Deb Caletti
(A+) 4/5/2011 Elise

Stay With Me by Garret Freymann-Weyr
(A+) 11/22/2010 SM 
(A+)  6/28/2009 Elise
(A+) 7/14/2009 Elise
(A) 5/2/2009 Elise
(A+) 5/31/2009 SM

Symir: The Drowning City by Amanda Downum
(unreview) 12/20/2010 SM 

T 
(A) 2/28/2010 SM
(A) 9/30/2009 Elise
(A+) 11/17/2009 Elise
(A) 12/10/2009 SM
(A+) 4/18/2010 Elise

Twin's Daughter, The by Lauren Baratz-Logsted
(A+) 9/14/2010 SM 

U 
(A+) 10/4/2009 SM


Unwritten Rule, The by Elizabeth Scott
(C) 4/30/2011 SM

V 
(A) 9/1/2009 SM

W 
(C) 5/13/2009 Elise
(A) 4/11/2009 Elise

(A+) 5/14/2009 SM


Wild Roses by Deb Caletti
(A+) 3/30/2011 SM


Wildthorn by Jane Eagland
(A+) 5/21/2011 SM

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan
(A+) 11/30/2010 SM 
(A+) 6/23/2010 SM
(A) 5/19/2009 SM

Wintercraft by Jenna Burtenshaw
(A+) 7/1/2010 SM
(B) 10/30/2009 SM
(A+) 10/10/2009 SM

X 

Y

Z